Census Archives

  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size

Wales Genealogy: Denbighshire Census & County Records

The historic county of Denbighshire was abolished in the controversial re-organisation of 1974, and was absorbed into the newly created county of Clwyd.
Ironically, the county of Clwyd was itself abolished on 31st March 1996, after a brief existence of twenty-two years. At the same time, four new "unitary" authorities were created. These were given the names: Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham County Borough and Conwy County Borough.
It is important to realise that the boundaries of the "new" Denbighshire and Flintshire are considerably different from those of the historic counties of the same names.
Fortunately, family historians have been little affected by these changes; because throughout the short lifetime of the county of Clwyd, records for historic Denbighshire remained at the Ruthin branch of the Clwyd Record Office, while records for historic Flintshire remained at the Hawarden branch. These two offices have now become the county Record Offices for "new" Denbighshire and "new" Flintshire respectively. The County Archivists have stated that they do not expect that there will be any major movement of records between the two Record Offices.


Denbighshire Search Census Records

Denbighshire, Wales Census Records
[ Free 14 day access through Ancestry.co.uk ]

Denbighshire Message boards

Denbighshire, Wales Ancestry Message Board


Denbighshire Civil Parish Index and Parish Census Records